Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
No, the controversy doesn't have anything at all to do with HT today. (Which is why I can post this here.) The details are not important. But I am not very good at keeping my big mouth shut. That gets me in trouble a lot, even when I am trying to "help". But something that came across my email today made me really upset. I WANTED to cause a big stink about it. I have good reasons for causing a big stink about it. But there is a bigger picture here in which it would do more harm than good for me to make a big stink about it, so I didn't. I figured that out BEFORE I made a small controversy into a big one. Maybe I am learning something after all.
It's that old prverb, "Getting into the middle of another man's quarrell is like grabbing a rabid dog by the ears!"
I know this makes no sense without it's context. It just feels like a big breakthrough to me to not fall into the same traps that have gotten me before, and I had to share this little bit that I can share with someone. If you don't mind me mixing metaphors, I don't have to be the messenger that gets shot this time! (Patting my self shamelessly on the back for this little bit of foresight). :D

Cindyc.

·
CF, Classroom & Books Mod
9,934 Posts
It amazes me how often you make a post that I could have written, Cindy. My experience is the same -- I often am completely unable to keep my mouth shut, even when I *KNOW* that, no matter what I say, it's just going to get me into trouble.

Congratulations on exhibiting some talent at self-censoring. I'd love it if you could post how you managed that -- I'm sure I'll have a great many opportunities to practice it over the coming months! ;)

·
Premium Member
4,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·