Would wood fence be OK?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by saramark, Sep 16, 2006.

1. saramark

saramark 1 acre homesteaders

We are planning on getting 2 pigs in May for food. Plan on keeping them about 6 months. As a carpenter, I have alot of wood on hand and plan on building wood fence. Question is, will this keep them in?

I plan on making the fence about 3' high, mounted with 2x6 on the outside, so they can't push the boards off. I will have posts buried in the ground about 3 feet down, 4 feet above ground. The posts will be about 4-6 feet apart. I plan on using barbed wire at ground level and above the wood, leaning into the pen to keep them from climbing or jumping out. Should I go with solid fence or space my boards, if so what spacing?

I would then have a slide bolted gate that opens in, to prevent them pusing it open or breaking it off. I dont have a ton of room. I planned on about 400 sq, ft. Is this enough for 6 month olds, or should I go bigger with 2?

Thanks for all the help. I love this forum. Our chickens are doing great and am building a tractor for this spring's 2 dozen broilers.

2. Firefly

Firefly Well-Known Member

Gee I'm so jealous of anyone that can build stuff! I need a tractor, sigh. For pigs I use 2 strands of electric tape with T-posts at corners and step-ins between, and a battery fence charger. Step-in's would have been sufficient at the corners, too, I'm sure. Works great, went up in less than an hour, and is perfect for the constructionally challenged!

3. Horace Baker

Horace Baker Well-Known Member

Wood enclosures are fine, I've made plenty out of pallets. If the boards are vertical, a 1-2" space should be fine. I'd open the gate out, the pigs will quickly make it impossible to open in. I put a couple of open ended L shaped brackets on the gate posts and slip a 2x4 in to keep the pigs from breaking the gate. (I hope that made sense). 400 sq. ft. is more than enough for 2 pigs IMO.

4. swollen tongue