Worms, worms, yikes

Discussion in 'Goats' started by topside1, Nov 2, 2006.

1. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

Just got to tell you fine folks that I'm glad I'm raising goats. What a bunch of different characters. The only thing that drives me a bit nuts, is the worming issues of goats. At least once a week, worms are blamed for anything/everything on the forum. Half the time I am so confused it's maddening. Finally, I think I've got it. One of our veteran posters mentioned to look at the goats bottom eyelids, and if it's healthy bright pink to bright red the animal is not in need of worming. That's simple enough, even for an old timer like me. Cattle are easy to worm, and rarely complain about anything much. I am quite positive that I have been over worming my goats un-necessarily, or maybe not. At least now I have a simple gauge to work with. I guess I'm just learning, slowly but surely. So just listen to the folks with all the experience, they have been there....Go Goats!!!....Tennessee John

2. Bearfootfarm

Bearfootfarm Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....? Supporter

Google FAMACHA and it explains this quite well. Ive pretty much stopped worming my sheep UNLESS they show signs of needing it and its been wonderful not wrestling with them every month or so.

3. ForMyACDs

ForMyACDs Well-Known Member

Even better is to take in a fecal sample to your vet (a mixture of goat berries from a few different animals in the herd or the ones you expect would be more likely to have worms)........do it twice a year to check your worm status.

4. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

Our vet has goats, and he says most folks who treat for worms over do it.

5. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

Based on what I know now, I'm sure the herd will always be in tip top shape. Can't wait for the kidding to begin...Three more months!!! Tennessee John

6. cricket

cricket Well-Known Member