Wood stove window cleaning

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Non Sum, Dec 12, 2004.

1. Non Sum

Non Sum Active Member

I'm new to wood stoves with ceramic glass windows (but not to wood stoves).
    I keep reading how the air washes down the window, keeping it relatively clear, but my new Jotel F400 Celestine doesn't appear to have read the same books.

Tell me, does everyone have to clean their glass, with the readily available special cleaners, nearly every day or two? Is that SOP? Or, am I alone with a problem unique to my installation, and/or make-model?

Since installing an outside air intake, my draft seems good. Nice stove otherwise. Terrible company (Jotel) in terms of technical support. I call their tech support each Monday, and leave a message for a call back (that's their idea of support). Of course, no one's really there to call back, but it is reassuring to have a number to call; don't you think.

Any ideas on keeping the glass clear would be gratefully received. Any ideas on better, cheaper, ways to clean it wouldn't be too bad either. Thanks!!

2. OD

OD Well-Known Member

We bought a Jotul 600 last year & I hate it. I clean the windows 4 or 5 times a week & I can't keep a fire going unless I leave a door open. It was so expensive, that we can't afford to trade it off, so I'll just have to live with it, but I doubt if I'll ever learn to like it.
    To clean the windows, I use 2 paper towels, one wet & one dry. Dip the wet one in ashes from the stove & wipe over about half of a window, then polish with the dry towel. You have to work fast so it doesn't dry before you can get it polished. Repeat until both windows are clean. This cleans as good as store-bought cleaners.

3. Steph in MT

Steph in MT Well-Known Member

Hello~