wood cook stoves

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by logcabn, Jan 19, 2005.

1. logcabn

logcabn Well-Known Member

Hi, everybody I'm new at this so bare with me. We are looking at getting a wood cook stove, my husband wants a pioneer maid ( I've read bad things about those) I would like to have a margin gem ( I like the legs) anyway anybody out there have one or knows what they are like or could recommend another type that they had success with?
    Thanks for all your help

2. Ozarkquilter46

Ozarkquilter46 Well-Known Member

I don't know anything about the cook stoves but hear is a thought. Let the cook pick the stove. Tell him that if he dose all the cookin, he can get the one he wants :) Sorry I am full of pi$$ and vinager this week if you know what I mean LOL I will be interested in what eveyone has to say that uses them thinks. My husband is one of those no fireplaces and no cook stoves and nothing that burns wood in the house kind of men. He thinks it will cost to much for homowners insurance with any of that stuff :(

3. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

My mother was born in 1894. She cooked for a large family on a wood cookstove until around 1950. The most wonderful thing she ever experienced with a wood cookstove was the day the guys who delivered her electric range carried it outside and busted it up with a maul, then hauled it away.
    My stepfather nearly cried. He had bought it new, and it was still in very good condition.

4. diane greene

diane greene Well-Known Member