Wood ashes

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Simple Sam, Dec 7, 2003.

1. Simple Sam

Simple Sam Member

This is my first year of using a woodstove full time, and I'm amazed at how much ash it produces! I store it in a covered metal can until cooled, and I've been adding it to my compost piles as the can gets full. Does anyone know, 'how much is enough, or too much, I should say, to add to the piles?' I mean, it's only early December, and I will have ashes till spring. I'm worried about making my compost too alkaline or something. Any ideas or help would be appreciated. I mean, I know I can always just bury the ashes in my woods somewhere, but that's a pain...
    Thanks,
    Sam

2. luvbritts

luvbritts Member

Spread them around on your lawn. It will make it thick and green in the spring....

3. Shrek

Shrek Singletree Moderator Staff Member

Leach the lye out of them for soapmaking before scattering them.

4. Ana Bluebird

Ana Bluebird Well-Known Member Supporter

Wow, I never have enough ashes. Besides the garden, the compost pile, the flower beds, the chickens love wood ashes to bathe in, it's really good in the barn yard to counter the "fertilizer" that is deposited there. Then if you have more, scatter it anywhere, good for grass, fields, trees, just don't make it too thick. Ask your neighbors if they want some.

5. Don't put it in compost you're going to use around potato plants, though. Wood ashes cause the potatoes to get scabs.
    If you have an outhouse, dump the ashes into the holes once in awhile and add a little water to dissolve the material.

6. Swampdweller

Swampdweller Well-Known Member

Never put wood ash or lime into your compost pile. Alkaline material drives nitrogen off into the atmosphere. Also, never spread compost and ash/lime at the same time. Till compost in during spring, ash/lime in during the fall to be sure no nitrogen is unnecessarily lost.