Women in building trades?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by chamoisee, Dec 25, 2005.

1. chamoisee

chamoisee Well-Known Member

Are there any women here who work in construction or building trades? What specifically, do you do, and have you encountered a lot of resistance in your field based on your sex?

I am becoming bored with what I currently do (working in a grocery store) and while my pay is pretty decent in relation to the pay scale there (I make between $7-$8 an hour, which isn't bad), it is hard for me to do more than just make ends meet on that pay, with 6 kids. Furthermore, I dislike working in a small area with a bunch of other women, and I don't find the job interesting/challenging enough to want to do it on a very long term basis, unless things changed.

So I was considering something like construction; a field that both pays better, has less interaction with women, and is more satisfying and diverse.
    I have some limited experience, mostly with drywall finishing, painting (not something I'd want to do exclusively) and helping out. Although I am small and female, I'm physically fit and certainly don't mind hard work or physical labor. So do you think this is just a pipe dream or a viable possibility? Ideas anyone?

2. Kazahleenah

Kazahleenah Disgruntled citizen

I'm not currently in building trades, but in the past I have been a roofer and a tower climber. The roofers ribbed me in fun at first, till they realized that I could (and did) keep up with the job. Climbing, the only resistance was that the boss had told the guys to watch what they said once I was hired... :cool: It didn't take long though, and we were all at ease with each other and getting along quite nicley.
    I'd say that so long as you can do the job, have no 'female attitude' and can joke and take a joke.... Go For It!!

Kaza

3. TNHermit

TNHermit Well-Known Member Supporter