Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this as I've just acquired a trio of breeding rabbits a month ago. From what I've read it's natural for the rabbits to "lie fallow" for the winter months. When is reasonable to expect them to be receptive to breeding again? I realize it has to do with photoperiod and with temperature. I live at the same latitude as Vancouver or northern North Dakota, so the days are pretty short now, but it's much warmer here (winter temps rarely fall much below -5 C). The rabbits are outside and so receive only natural light. I'd just like to get a general idea of this because I'd like to start trying to breed when the buck has a reasonable chance of a warm reception, since he's young and I don't want him to get discouraged.
Thanks for any input. I've been reading this forum for awhile and it's extremely informative.

·
Crazy Dog Lady
3,436 Posts
I breed all year long... I put up lights in my rabbit area during the winter to create an artificial day of 14 hours and they happily breed. If that is not possible, you could probably wait for spring when the days start getting longer in your area.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
How much light is necessary? Are low-wattage florescent (sp.?) bulbs enough, or do you need something brighter? I'd like to set this up, but this spring I'll have to make do with my current setup so a rough idea of when breeding picks up again under natural light would also be helpful. The wild rabbits can't be waiting until they have 14 hours of light; they wouldn't be breeding again until July! Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
611 Posts
I use floresent bulbs and they work fine. Generally if you turn on the light and you think it is bright enough then it is fine, if you think it is to dimb, then its to dark.