Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,612 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well now this is a surprise! I have dealt with rabbits in the garden my whole life and have manages to keep them at bay.Not this time! You know,carrots,cabbage,broccoli etc. That's easy! Just some powdered hot peppers applies when wet and they don't eat it anymore! That's a slick trick but not this year! Seems noone told me how much rabbits LOVE blackeye peas! This is my first year raising them and all was well 'till last week! I guess it must be that the weather has turned cooler but now they are steady into my blackeye peas!They just bypassed all their normal foods and seem to love blackeyes. Everytime I go to the garden I run off rabbits and down the rows the blackeyes are being eaten,not the plants but the beans themselves!I raised 3 other type "beans" and they haven't touched them,or any of their normal foods but boy they are tearing up the blackeye peas!
So is this common or do I just have some weird rabbits?

Wade

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
I have one rabbit in my garden, and can't figure out how it's gotten in since my garden is fenced. It has eaten my bean plants, as well as the leaves off my peppers and raspberries. I basically think that rabbits will eat anything green that catches their fancy.

·
Registered
262 Posts
I don't grow blackeyed peas, but the rabbits ate my sugar snap peas to the ground this year. They nibbled other plants here and there, but the peas they just decimated.

It also meant that a branch from the pea plant worked really well in the trap to lure them in.

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
I planted blackeyed peas three times this year. First two times the rabbits ate them just as fast as they could germinate. DH finally put up a bunny fence around the garden for me and I planted them a third time with success.

Evidently they didn't like anything else as much as those peas.