Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
KS dairy farmers
3,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help me out here please. I know there are a lot of KS residents on HT and I am new to the state. Where are your favorite places to shop? I'd really like to know about any good pick your own fruit farms or nut farms. Any good places to buy bedding plants and veggie plants? I've heard there are a few wineries nearby that I thought would be fun to check out. Any unique places to check out just because it's fun? Anybody sell baby chicks, poults or ducklings? I liquidated my poultry flock before the move and need to re-stock. Any good places to bring your animals in to be butchered?

Thank You
Heather

·
Cheap but not free
386 Posts
I am North of Wichita a ways. I have my beef butchered in a little town NW of Wichita called Yoder. Yoder is a neat town, Amish, and you can explore it as a fun day. Carriage Crossing homestyle restaurant, old time Yoder Hardware, Kansas Crossing merchantile with tons of Kanasa made stuff.

20 minutes north of Wichita is Newton. They have lots of shops on Main Street and a farmer's market on Saturday morning.

Beck's Farm is a little north of Wichita, just a few miles, and its a pick your own peaches orchard and farm products store.

Listen to 1070 am radio. It's a country station and they advertise plenty of good businesses.

A wonderful place to buy garden plants etc is in Hesston, a little further North of Newton. It's called Stone Creek Nursery.

A road trip well worth the time is to Salina, 90 miles North of Wichita. They have a great winery called Smokey Hills Winery.

http://www.stonecreeknursery.com/

http://www.thenewtonchamber.org/

http://www.kansaswine.com/

http://www.yoderkansas.com/

http://www.becksfarm.com/index.html

http://www.kfdi.com/get/theranch/

·
Registered
11,076 Posts
Hey you two, WELCOME to the sunflower state.