Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Don't let "good enough" be the enemy of perfect.
3,471 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an engineer---not a biologist. But I was looking at a forest of tall pine trees and got to wondering why, exactly, do trees grow upwards?

Is it because they are the attracted to the sun?
Or repulsed by gravity?
How do they even know which way "up" is?
Would a tree growing on a spaceship (absent gravity) under artificial light grow towards the light?
And what, internally, makes them grow towards the sun, if that is the driving factor?

Reactions: doc-

·
Registered
4,747 Posts
If they were repulsed by gravity we would have figured out how that works and have made antigravity machines. Also there would be trees in low earth orbit.

Trees grow up because they need sunlight to prosper and evolution selected for tall trees so they would compete with other trees.

·
Premium Member
7,098 Posts
Because if they grow down they die?

Mon

Reactions: wdcutrsdaughter

·
Registered
22,057 Posts
To get sunlight. Look at a woods sometime along the edge. Trees do not always grow up. Sometimes they grow up a couple feet and then turn sharply toward the light. I cut a 60 foot cottonwood tree in my woods about a month ago that was growing out over our yard about 6 feet off the ground and the stump was 42 feet back in the woods. I was very careful with that one. All that weight hanging at about a 30 degree angle makes them prone to snapping off or barber chairing when you start cutting. Good way to get killed.

Reactions: NRA_guy

·
Registered
4,667 Posts
I'm an engineer---not a biologist. But I was looking at a forest of tall pine trees and got to wondering why, exactly, do trees grow upwards?

Or repulsed by gravity?
Would a tree growing on a spaceship (absent gravity) under artificial light grow towards the light?
And what, internally, makes them grow towards the sun, if that is the driving factor?