Who's Your Momma?

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Leo, Jul 4, 2006.

1. Leo

Leo Well-Known Member

This is my first time posting so if it doesn't come up sorry, i'll see if I can make it work.
    I was wondering if you might help us figure out what kind of breed she mostly resembles.
    I'm mostly familiar with herefords, limousins, angus, brahmas, jeresy's and such, but can't find a good fit. We named her Butters, she's a bit golden in color, she weighs about 200#, very mellow, and a bit shy. We bought her at the livestock auction, so don't know much about her history, breed or vacc. wise.
    So below is some pictures of her in the barn, and chillin' in the shade.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    We have some thoughts on her mix, but any ideas would be helpful.
    Thank you,
    Megan

2. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

She's so cute :) What long eyelashes! Something about the curly hairs on her head give me the impression of a Charolais cross. Is she very young?

3. Leo

Leo Well-Known Member

Hi,
    I love her eyelashes, too. I'll look up the charolais breed, I don't think I looked up that one yet.

I'm not very good with the cattle breeds though so I thought I'd come to the professionals. :)

I went out and checked her teeth, she still has all her baby teeth, and measures 36" at the withers. All the info that I got from the auction was that she is a 200# heifer and a Killer.
    I think they just called her a killer as they were trying to convince me that a woman has no business with cattle of anykind. Don't you just love the good o'le boys. :rolleyes:
    Thank you,
    Megan

4. SmokedCow

SmokedCow Well-Known Member

Yeah..chars have been known to throw out that creamy color. Most of the time, its the cow is a char with simiar color and shes bred Black or Red. Shes a cutie!!
    Have a great and safe 4th!
    AJ

5. milkinpigs

milkinpigs Dairy/Hog Farmer