Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can you tell me about your drip systems? I'm going to be setting one up for the veggie garden, and I've got lots of options, and no experience! I like the 1/4" soaker hose, and the dial-a-flow emitters (like baby sprinklers). I also have the drip emitters. Our well is taking a dive, so we're trying to conserve water as much as possible, without giving up on the garden entirely.

I'm still not really clear on how much to water the garden, so I don't know how long and how often I would be watering with a drip system. I'd welcome any experiences you all have with your watering patterns.

How do you do you mulch with your drip system? Just put your mulch over the lines? Emitters over or under the mulch? Etc, etc! I'm planning on using straw as mulch.

My garden is raised beds, with good soil in them, square foot method, and just got my transplants in (goats ate my previous efforts!). I've got lots of vertical indeterminate tomato plants and a few melon plants. Lots of bush tomatoes, and I will be planting fall crops soon.

THANKS!

Tracey Mouse

·
Registered
415 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm, quality is fine, it's quantity that's a pain. We're supplementing with a water truck as needed.

Tracey Mouse

·
Registered
912 Posts
mousebandit said:
Hmm, quality is fine, it's quantity that's a pain. We're supplementing with a water truck as needed.

Tracey Mouse
Then you need to go to drip. We have abundant water but it is pumped from a lake with quite a bit of algae. We're ripping out the T tape tomorrow. The 1/4 lines should work fine if you have nothing to clog it.

·
Premium Member
5,018 Posts
Why not put in a filter? My well water has rust particles, so when I install mine in the spring, I;m putting in a filter at the start--less than 50.

·
Registered
950 Posts