Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never done it before, but would like to give it a try. Question I've got is whether or not milk soaps can stand the added heat?

·
Registered
913 Posts
I've done HP with milk soaps. They turn a dark tan and have an ammonia like odor for a couple of weeks. After they have cured for a while the odor goes away. The one's I did were Oatmeal Honey and Goat's milk. I didn't add any additional scent. As an experiment I poured half my recipe in my mold and didn't let it gel. I then dumped the other half in the crockpot and HP'd it. The CP part was a creamy ivory and very pretty, but very light honey oatmeal scent. The HP part was less attractive, but after a couple of weeks the ammonia smell went away and it had a very sweet, almost nutty rich scent, and it was much more intense than the CP.
the lighting isn't very good in this photo, but you can see the difference in the apearance of the two processes of the same recipe.

·
Registered
258 Posts
Nice looking soaps Hollow.

I HP all my soap but I don't make soaps with any animal products, so they come out a creamy white.

·
Registered
10,221 Posts
Tracey,
CPHP 100% milk soaps pictorial. 100% OO

http://www.mullerslanefarm.com/cphpmilksoap.html

I prefer using discounted liquid over HP.

boy-o Step, you really dislike using animal by-product, don't you? I understand it may be a health-related issue. Too bad, you're missing out on some quite wonderful and luxurious products such as milks, honey, tallow, lard ... Before I made milk soaps, and was transitioning back to using lard & tallow instead of palm oil, my AO (animal oil) soaps were always whiter than the soaps using palm oil (and milder too!) :)

If you've not used AO, you might want to give it a try, (if religion/beliefs allow), especially if you can find organically, grass fed beef or pastured pork in your area.

·
Registered
4,108 Posts
Discussion Starter #5