Whiteflies

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Dave, Jul 15, 2004.

1. Dave

Dave Well-Known Member

Never had any problems with whiteflies but they're having a good year. I've been fighting these things for 3 months now. Nothing seems to even make a dent in them.

I've tried a few natural remedys, then bug-b-gone(which they seemed to love) and finally stepped up with malathion-plus which seems to kill them on contact but the next day I still see dozens of them. I've made sure to get the underneath side of the leaves where they hang out. Even spraying every other day for the past week hasn't stopped them.

They've pretty much killed off all my morning glory annuals which should be over 20 feet high by now if not for these whiteflies. Really taken the joy out of my flower gardening this year. They've pretty much sucked the life out of them to the point where they're beyond saving. Otherwise I'd get blooms from them til December.(zn 9)

I really didn't want to use any pesticides and I can't think of anything stronger than malathion. Short of just writing it all off and finding a flamethrower, is there anything else I can try?

2. kathy H

kathy H kathyh

Chemicals wont work any way the have been resistant for about ten years now. There is a wasp? predator which kills them check www. arbico.com.

3. diane

diane Well-Known Member

Although it is a bit pricey.........Pyola from Garden's Alive works well for me both inside and outside.

4. primal1

primal1 Well-Known Member Supporter

damn them whiteflies!

I've never had them outdoors but I did get them indoors. Since then I have been developing a safe pest prevention spray that does work on spider mites and white flies indoors... I am still working on an outdoor equivalent but it won't be ready for a while yet.

Before my spray I used to use Neem oil, which worked quite well.