Whining goat (and other weird stuff)

Discussion in 'Goats' started by beckibell, Jul 13, 2004.

1. beckibell

beckibell New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole goat owning thing ... I've had horses for years but this is my first experience with other hoofies.

My first two goats happened to be five week old bottle fed Nubians. I got a little more than I bargained for but have been fully enjoying myself so far ... except for a couple of little worries that I hope don't turn into big worries.

My two kids are twins, but one of them is growing much faster than the other. They are 10 weeks old now and I'm just cutting them back to one bottle of milk a day. One of them is still pretty lean and the other is getting fatter and fatter, though they both seem to be eating the same and the bigger one isn't bullying the smaller one away from his feed or anything.

In the past couple of days I've noticed the smaller one seeming a little less playful and a little more needy. He tends to stay right next to me when I'm out with them and he isn't jumping around and playing nearly as much as he did a couple of weeks ago. Also, he *whines*. Like a dog.

Now, I'm thinking the fact that he's just been cut back to a bottle a day may be what is affecting his behavior. Other than what I described above he seems healthy ... he has clear eyes, normal stools, and he is eating well. Between the two of them he is definitely the most upset at the weaning. He cries all morning and each evening after I leave them. I'm thinking that this constant worrying may be why he isn't gaining weight as well as his brother (metabolism thing?) and why he suddenly seems so needy. But perhaps it's something more sinister than that? Anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Should I have him checked out by a vet to be sure?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for the long post!

Becki

2. BrushBuster

BrushBuster Well-Known Member