Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
422 Posts
The whey. My DH is lactose intolerant. Hard cheeses are perfectly safe to eat, as well as other cheeses that do not have added whey or milk.

Here's some links:
http://www.lactose.com/

I am lactose intolerant and can't eat cheese
People who are lactose intolerant can eat hard cheese
Contrary to popular belief, cheeses such as cheddar do not contain any lactose.
http://www.cheeseboard.co.uk
I'm lactose intolerant. Can I still incorporate cheese into my diet? ... Most of the lactose found in cheese is removed with the whey during the manufacturing ...
www.ilovecheese.com/lactose_intolerant_faqs.asp
Megan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
303 Posts
My guess would be the whey as lactose is a sugar and sugar dissolves in water. The curd is the protein part and is a solid. Hard cheeses have all (most) of the water removed. Thus, almost all the lactose has also been removed.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top