Where to start?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Kazahleenah, Feb 25, 2005.

1. Kazahleenah

Kazahleenah Disgruntled citizen

Hello everyone. I am pretty new to this "flower gardening". My past experience has been with the basics... marigolds and petunias. The rest of my "gardening knowlage" came from farming and veggie gardening. Here's my 'delima'. I now live in a place that does not afford me the luxery of a nice big garden, so I have decided to start to learn about and grow some of the pretty flowers that are so hard to find around here. What plants would you all reccomend me starting with? I have a large deck and a yard... so can plant in the ground and pots alike. I live in planting zone 4... but is on the edge of 5, so many of 5's plants do grow here as well. Are there any good books for this? I'm rather lost and tend to jump in over my head, as I could see when my Burpee seed catalouge came. lol. Just thought I'd stop and ask some advice before stepping into this full speed.
    Thanks a bunch!!
    Kaza

2. bonnie lass

bonnie lass Semper Fi

First, think about whether you want to plant annuals or perennials. Perennials seem like a better "investment" because they come back every year, but they tend to have a shorter blooming period than annuals do. If your garden is very small, annuals may be more rewarding. Of course, there is no rule that says you can't mix the two :D I like growing plants that produce a lot of seed for me to collect and share. Some good ones, seedwise, are: black-eyed susan, shasta daisy, coreopsis, echinacea, phlox, spiderwort, and obediant plant, all perennials, cleome, money plant, and nicotiana, all annuals. I would be happy to give you any of the above if they interest you. Also, check out the Artistic Gardens web site, they have sample packs for 35 cents, so you can experiment with a little of everything!! http://www.artisticgardens.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=24&osCsid=321738c845ec7dab00aeffc9ce61c3c9