Where to homestead?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Susie13, Feb 5, 2004.

1. Susie13

Susie13 Guest

Hello everyone! We are new to the homesteading idea and while we always think about moving( we live in the high Rockies and it is COLD) we don't know where the best place to move would be. We are looking for some land(not too expensive) water, garden spot and nice climate. Any ideas? Where is the best place?

Susie 13

2. TXlightningbug

TXlightningbug Well-Known Member

Hi, Susie 13, I'm new to the idea too, but I have really fallen in love with it. I live in Texas with relatives in the west and in the east. I'll tell you now that, while West Texas has it's own beauty, I would not live there because of the oil industry. My grandma's water well became contaminated with oil because of the method used to extract more oil from dying wells. They inject hot water into the wells to force more oil to the surface. This causes leaching into the water table. It is used wherever there are oil wells, including in Southeast Texas and Louisiana. Beautiful land, but the water is likely to be unusable for drinking or irrigation.
    Personally, I am looking at a small region of East Texas framed by the Red River, Arkansas and back towards Rockwall County. I am also looking at the southwest corner of Arkansas. It snows at least once each winter in that area, but not to the extent that it breaks your back to shovel it. And you only shovel if you want to, not because you need to. It is a generally rolling landscape, has some great prices on the land and the weather is usually wonderful. Some people might object to tornadoes, but that just requires listening to the weather and having a tornado shelter or root cellar. Nothing shaky like mobile homes either. Those are death traps.