When to wether

Discussion in 'Goats' started by valsey, May 31, 2006.

1. valsey

valsey *

Hello everyone
    I would love any and all opinions on when I should wether my 2 boys. They are in with my does (mom included) now. I plan to have the vet castrate them because I can't bear any other method. (Lord knows the disbudding, tatooing and cocci preventative was bad enough!)

Thanks!

2. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member

How old are they now? I don't usually wether until I absolutely have to (seven to eight weeks old if I have to keep them in the same pen with the girls).

If you get the tool to do bands, which is not expensive, banding is easy. You just put a band on the prongs, stretch the band open, make sure you've got both testicles, and put the band on, then roll it off the prongs. That's all there is to it -- hardly worth a vet bill.

Kathleen

3. valsey

valsey *

Well, I'm new to this and haven't got the farm mentality yet. They are really more pets than livestock to me. I wrapped a rubber band around my finger and could hardly stand it myself - can't imagine if it were my kahunas!

They are 8 weeks old.

4. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member

Better get them done right away, then, as they are capable of breeding their mothers and sisters.

It only hurts for a short while -- then it goes numb.

Kathleen

5. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter

I like to band mine between 2 weeks-1 month of age. Banding only hurts for a bit and then they are numb.

6. Caprice Acres

Caprice Acres AKA "mygoat" Staff Member Supporter

Make sure you clean the area to be banded well before applying the band... watch for infection, though most goats do fine with the banding method.

7. rranch

rranch Well-Known Member

I always band mine, but wait until the buck is any where from 8 weeks to 4 months. Unless the little guy shows signs he needs to be banded sooner I would wait. Urinary Calculi can be a health issue later in life for them.