What's your down town like - if you have one?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by perennial, Jan 11, 2005.

1. perennial

perennial Well-Known Member

Had to go to City Hall today - i've been avoiding down town for about 3 months because it's so busy - what a shocker!

Glad to be home now.

What's your downtown like? Do you even have one?

2. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

Not bad, actually. Historic town square with city hall in center and shops etc around it. If I really need much of anything I have to drive up to Clinton, but I've figured out how to go around and miss the traffic.

3. Little Quacker in OR

Little Quacker in OR Well-Known Member

:) The first time we came to the Northwest to survey for a place to "vacation" year around(read reitiredment! LOL)we fell in love with this little town. We kept looking at the whole Northwest but kept coming back here.

No lines at the postoffice..no lines at DMV, just coffee and doughnuts..no lines at the pharmacy..just a table and a sink where you can keep your own coffee cup...at the market someone ALWAYS asks you if you need help finding something and if you do they grab your basket and haul it to where the item is. And..when it rains, someone walks you and your groceries out to the car with an umbrella!

Traffic is seeing a few cars traveling about when I go into town.
    And yes, they know your name. LOL :)

LQ

4. mommymushbrain

mommymushbrain Well-Known Member

My downtown is quite nice, other than the traffic issues. There is an old train depot that has been restored and goes through the mountains. All the old time shops are great. But the traffic is just icky. It's one of those times I am glad those roads are crappy, because it keeps the traffic slow. LOL

5. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter