Whats up with my pigs

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by TNHermit, Nov 10, 2006.

1. TNHermit

TNHermit Well-Known Member Supporter

OK I'm new at this. But I read that pigs would eat most anything. Well mine only like old bread,donuts and cracked corn (but not so much). They do like acorns too. But we have given him all kind of fruits and vegetable and they don't eat none of it.
    And does it hurt to give them stuff with a little meat in it. Like spaghetti or chile

2. Paula

Paula Well-Known Member

Ha Ha, just like kids, eating the sweets instead of what's good for them. Too much bread and donuts will just make them fat.
    If they get hungry enough I guarantee they'll eat most anything you feed them.
    Yes, meat's ok, they need protein to grow muscle. Pigs are omnivores, they can really eat most anything.

3. dezeeuwgoats

dezeeuwgoats Well-Known Member

I had a picky pig too. I had to harden my heart and only give him the good stuff - he only held out for a day and half before he started eating his 'veggies'. (not really veggies, but the good for him, stuff).

I thought I was the only person on the planet who ever had a 'picky' pig - who ever heard of such a thing! lol

niki

4. rj_in_MA

rj_in_MA Well-Known Member

I don't know what size your's are, but mine were picky until they hit about 70#. After that, they'd eat anything but citrus.

-rj

5. TNHermit

Well they must have an extreme sense of smell or something. i put two donuts in the bottom of a bucket of slop and they went right to the bottom. didn't even hesitate :) I watch them a lot. Neighbor doesn't think I can kill them. But after watching them for a while they are interesting but there just eating, fertilizing machines. the one is gettin a little freindly. Seems when I'm there he likes to come over and sniff me a lot

6. SDjulieinSC

SDjulieinSC Well-Known Member