What type of wood should I use?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by woodswitch, Jul 22, 2006.

1. woodswitch

woodswitch Member

Can anyone please give me suggestions on what type of wood they would use for a carved outdoor sign? I am a woodworker who has been hired to make a farm sign for someone. It is to be hand carved with routered letters. So far, I am torn between fir and cedar. Could use any advice. thanks!

2. Alexanderg

Alexanderg New Member

Many "carved" signs are made from end grain redwood that has been sandblasted rather than routed. Routed signs, by contract, are usually face grain and a big problem is warpage after the sign is made. You don't say how big this sign is, but Western Red Cedar will be easier to carve, considerably lighter, and more weather resistant in the long run. Signs get a lot of exposure, by definition, and painting, staining and regular maintainance of these coatings will be the key to longevity. For small to medium size signs, I would consider planing and edge jointing 2 b y 6 WRC, edge glueing with biscuits and high performance glue, and then carving the sign. Paint will last much longer than varnish and no effort should be spared to coat every nook and cranny. Refinishing every couple of years is a must.

3. CatsPaw

CatsPaw Who...me?

Walnut used to be used for windows because it doesn't rot very easily. Walnut may be expensive where you're at. For me it's cheap as dirt. I got it laying around waiting to be used up for something.

4. Highground

Highground Well-Known Member

You're in Pa. Get some black locust. It will last forever.

5. woodswitch

woodswitch Member

I've never carved into black locust. Anyone else try it?
    This is a 2' x 3' sign, raised letters, raised realistic pig in the center. It's going to have a good bit of detail in it. (big money horse people in this area and I'm looking to start a little side business!) Take all advice I can get!

6. beorning

beorning Well-Known Member