What to do with runt?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by nuby, May 7, 2004.

1. nuby

nuby Active Member

Ok, our New Zealand had 14 kits, lost 2 and 12 are alive today (11 days old today) , but I just noticed a puny runt getting trampled by it's big brothers and sisters. I took it out and gave it about four dropperfuls of goats milk which it took. Never done this before. I thought I should not put it back because it might get killed by the older 11 or maybe the mom would reject it since I've handled it so much. SOOO, I thought maybe my kids could raise it? Do they just keep it in a box, feed it how many times a day? Is there anything I should add to the goat milk? How much to feed at a time? It's eyes are open, but it doesn't move much, probably weak and malnurished :( I'll look at the orphan bunny threads on this forum now ;)

Any websites on this?

2. mommabear

mommabear Member

Keep in mind I am no expert but from personal experience, I let nature take its course, however 11 days old to me is a little different than a newborn or week-old. If they survive past a week or so, then I wonder, but whoever dies the first week I figure it is nature taking it's course. I will however foster it out to another doe, if I have a doe with less kits of approx same age give or take a few days.
    I would put it back, if you wish to suppliment giving it meals, so be it, but inbetween time I would think it needs the warmth of it's litter mates and nest box to keep it properly warm. Maybe others have a different opinion.
    If he is weaker and not able to push through stronger litter mates to get fed, there could be something wrong with him, yet it could just be that there are so many.
    Anyone here know the mortality rate of kits who people try to hand raise at this age?