What to do with a queen?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by applesack, Jun 9, 2006.

1. applesack

applesack New Member

I'm kinda new to beekeeping. My family had bees when I was young but this spring I decided to try it again since I already had all of the equipment. Anyhow, last week I got in my hive and there were no signs of my queen...no eggs or anything and no queen cell. I was a little worried so I called the man I ordered my bees from and just got a new queen this morning. I checked my frames before I put the new queen in and there are eggs again. I'm assuming I must have missed the queen cell somehow and they made a new queen. Like I said I'm new at this so I'm a little unsure. Anyhow, I didn't put the new queen in. I don't want to waste her since I had to pay for her. Is there anything I can do with her??

2. KSALguy

KSALguy Lost in the Wiregrass Supporter

is your hive big enough to make a split? even a small one?

3. Mike in Ohio

Mike in Ohio Well-Known Member

The first question is whether you actually do have a queen or whether you have a worker that has started laying. If you have a scattered pattern of egg cells and/or you have drone cells then you likely have a laying worker. If so, try to identify her, kill her and put the queen cage in the hive. Put a miniture marshmellow where the cork is. The bees should eat her free in 3-4 days and this also gives them time to adjust to her and her scent.

As usual, just my 2 cents.

Mike

4. alleyyooper

alleyyooper keeper of the bees Staff Member Supporter

I second Mike on this one. Best way I have found to get rid of a laying worker is to shake all the bees off the frames 50 feet or more from the hive.