Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am purchasing 40 acres of land with mainly Oak on the property. It has never been logged and is all forest. My question is what to do with the all the trees? I am contemplating having it professionally logged OR buying a sawmill, milling and selling locally. There will be a learning curve with the mill as I have never done this before. What are the pros and cons of each? I figure it will take years to clear myself but I will have a somewhat steady income instead of a lump sum from logging. Plus all lumber the lumber/firewood I could ever use.

·
Premium Member
11,554 Posts
I think in this case, your best bet will be to contact the forestry service and consult them what would be the best thing to do....

If you have hilly land like I think I remember you saying, if you clear cut it, you will end up with a muddy eroding mess... My land had been clear cut years and years ago.. .like back in the 30's or so.. You can see all the damage from erosion years ago.. very deep ravines and what I call washes that run down all my hills..

I've got about 50 acres much like what you describe.. I will selectively cut trees for my use, but I will not sell them.. If I do sell anything, it will be lumber that I've milled.

I DO NOT want anyone doing any work on my land.. THey don't care about it. All they care about is money, and time is money, so they will take a lot of shortcuts..

My neighbor had someone come in and cut his property. The guy had a good reputation, but he still did a ton of damage that the neighbor took years of work to repair..

I'm leaving mine wooded and clearing out because I don't need to graze animals, and I don't have the time to let it become pasture... I'd rather use the land for hunting.. I can get all the meat I need to fill my freezers every year by taking what mother nature provides..