What teat dip do you use?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Kaitlin, Aug 22, 2006.

1. Kaitlin

Kaitlin Well-Known Member

I have been milking my goats for a few months in happy ignorance that I was supposed to use a teat dip. For the last week I have using an iodine based teat dip that you dilute 1:4 with water . I've now noticed that one of my goats has a sore patch on one of her teats and it seems likely that it was caused by the dip. Should I keep on using the dip or does anyone use a gentler alternative? I'd be grateful for your advice.

Thanks, Kaitlin.

2. lijj

lijj Well-Known Member

3. AllWolf

AllWolf We love all our animals

Here is what I use to clean my doe to get ready to milk her === Iodine Udder Wash Concentrate.. I really like it and it tells how to do them. Here is the directions on how I use it. I got a small oz cup and put some of that iodine udder wash in it alone with some water and then I dip the teat down in it and have a clean paper towel to dry the teat right after I dip it but of course I clean all around the teat too. Then I start milking my doe after I'm done I use fight-Bac to spray on her teat and I haven't so far knock on wood had any troubles.

But I'm later going to start using this instead Nolvasan Teat Dip Concentrate right now I'm using the other but I going to order this stuff later to use..

Quoted by: Kaitlin I have been milking my goats for a few months in happy ignorance that I was supposed to use a teat dip. For the last week I have using an iodine based teat dip that you dilute 1:4 with water . I've now noticed that one of my goats has a sore patch on one of her teats and it seems likely that it was caused by the dip. Should I keep on using the dip or does anyone use a gentler alternative? I'd be grateful for your advice.

Thanks, Kaitlin