What tasts better grown in your own garden vs. store bought?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Torch, Jan 11, 2005.

1. Torch

Torch Well-Known Member

In the piney woods of the great state of Texas.
    Saying everything is not helpful, so don't do it!!!! :)

Seriously, I'm new to this. This year was (is) our first garden and we really enjoyed it. We grew tomatoes, green onions, collards, brocolli and some herbs. Actually the collards and brocolli and still going well. The tomatoes are gone and some of the herbs are fine others are gone now.

We liked EVERYTHING that came from the garden. The tomatoes and herbs, in particular, were fabulous. You just can't get that quality in the produce section.

The collards, brocolli and onions were good but not, at least to me, noticibly better than store bought. I'm not saying that I will not add them to my garden, which I'll be expanding, next year; only that if given the choice between tomatoes and collards, for example, because of time or space constraints, tomatoes will win.

What things do you find are just head and shoulders better when grown yourself than when bought? I'm not talking about the satisfaction that comes from growing them yourself, simply what TASTES better?

Thanks.

2. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

Wee. I like this question.
    First of all, what I like about growing better vegetables in the garden is that you can choose the varieties that are either best for you region or have exceptional taste/growing qualities:
    Some of my past favorites are:

Oliver Brussel Sprouts (after 2 nips of frost outdoors)
    Brandywine Tomatoes
    Jumbo Snow Peas
    Golden Acorn Squash
    Chiogga and Burpee Golden Beets
    Northern Xtra Super Sweet Corn
    Stars and Bars Sweet Corn
    Illini Sweet Corn
    Yukon Gold Potatoes
    Jersey Asparagus
    Rosality and Buttercrucn lettuce
    Sweet Sandwich, Red Burgermaster, Wala Wala, and Kelsey Giant Onions
    Red Shallots