What should I do next????

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by tat, Sep 20, 2004.

1. tat

tat Active Member

Hello,

I live on 30 acres in East Texas and in the last few months I have aquired 6 White rock hens that are laying a few eggs a day + 2 roosters. I have 11 doe and 1 buck NZW rabbits and 12 unit cage that should be here around the first of september. I have thought of getting a milk goat and learning to make cheese and butter. Can someone advise me of something else I could do to utilize my land some more. I am very new to this and would be open to any suggestions.

Thanks

Tommy

2. countrygrrrl

countrygrrrl PITA

Gardens ... carefully fenced from the goats! :)

Sounds like you have a good start, though.

3. insanity

insanity Well-Known Member

Yep map out your garden spot first.Then you might also add a little piggy.And eat him when he is a big piggy! ;)

4. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

I would plant fruit and nut trees. Don't settle for just any old tree tho. There are lots of new, more disease resistant varieties of many trees. And many have been developed for specific climates. And lots of berry bushes.

Put in a huge asparagus bed. It will produce for years and provide you with lots to eat and sell.

You might want to get some other varieties of poultry, such as turkey, muskovie ducks, and quail, to raise for meat and eggs for the specialty foods market.

Have fun!

5. DayBird

DayBird Big Bird

You've got to get a Great Pyrenees to help you take care of everything. Get the goats for the milk and some potbelly pigs to raise for meat. Muscovy ducks are great and get some heritage breed turkeys for Thanksgiving.

Don't stop with the asparagus. There are lots of perennial vegetable and berry plants to grow. Strawberries, rasberries, rhubarb, artichokes, grapes. They're all worth a try. Blueberry bushes and figs are two not to be without.