What should go in a sheep first aid kit?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by quailkeeper, Aug 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. quailkeeper

quailkeeper Well-Known Member

What should I put in a sheep first aid kit? I am very new to sheep and thought this might be something good to have around. What would be good for cuts, banadaging, emergency vitamins or shots? I've been reading a lot of the posts here and it seems like there are a lot of shots and treatments. It would probably be good if they had a shelf life of at least 6 months. Also should any of it be refridgerated?

2. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

Some of the things I keep on hand are:

Kaolin - for scours. This helps to firm stools up
    Probios - "good" bacteria to get their tummies back in shape after they've been scouring for any reason
    Iodine - to disinfect cuts or raw spots
    Vet wrap - for bandaging
    Gauze pads - I like the telfa-pads because they won't stick to a wound.
    Blue coat - wound disinfectant and anti-fungal
    Vit B complex - this is injectable, I keep it in the fridge
    Epinephrine - to treat anaphylactic shock, kept in fridge
    Oxytetracycline - this is the broad spectrum anti-biotic I keep on hand.
    Nutri drench - a concentrated energy, vitamin source I use if any of the critters is looking a bit ragged.
    Kopertox - to use for foot infections.

3. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I'll tell you what I keep on hand but I have upwards of 500 animals on hand so it will be over kill for a small flock. I'll try to put a * beside the essentials

Thermometer ***
    Various lengths of rubber and vynal tubing*
    Funnels to fit the larger sizes*
    60,20,12, and 6 cc syrynges Lur lock on the bigger ones straight tiped for smaller ones * {the 60 is optional}
    14gx2inch or longer, 18gx1.5, 20x1 needles*
    Trocar
    Balling gun
    Scalple
    Hoof shears*
    Cattle rectal exam gloves