what makes cows and goats different?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by sunnygrl, Jan 10, 2007.

1. sunnygrl

sunnygrl Well-Known Member

Besides the obvious !!! :p ... I have been reading in the cattle forum that if a cow has twins and they are boy/girl the heifer will be sterile. Does this not happen with goats?

2. Jim S.

Jim S. Well-Known Member

In cows, about 90 percent of heifer twins are freemartins, which are females with a masculinized behavior and non-functioning ovaries. It happens because free hormones from the bull calf sterilize the heifer in the womb. It can also happen in goats, but is much more rare. Apparently, there normally is a much lower incidence of free hormones in the womb in goats than cows. But it DOES happen. Because it can happen (or mosaicism or other sterility can occur), most breed standards with which I am familiar include an upper age limit for first kidding.

As a cattle farmer, I cull against any twins, which are rare in cows as far as my own experience. They just don't pencil out, even as terminal calves, if you factor in lower rate of gain and generally poorer health/higher maintenance costs.

As a meat goat farmer, I cull against anything more than two kids, for basically the same reasons.

3. computerchick

computerchick Keeper of the Zoo

You can end up with a sterile goat or a pseudo hermaphodite in polled X polled breedings...but they have to be 'smooth polled' where both parents are polled (Polled being the dominant condition)...

As to twins, I haven't heard of it happening, but I'm sure it does...not an almost 'definite' as when dealing with heifer/bull twins.

Andrea

4. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter

Out of many, many sets of triplets and hundreds of sets of twins, we have *never* had one that wouldn't breed.....

5. southerngurl

southerngurl le person Supporter

Goats = Smart

Cows = Dumb

:D

6. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter

Yah ain't met my Jerseys....... :p