What kind of fresh meat do you feed your dogs?

Discussion in 'Working and Companion Animals' started by Up North, May 4, 2006.

1. Up North

Up North KS dairy farmers

For those of you that feed your dogs fresh meat on a regular basis what kind of meat do you feed them? Is there a preference? Is one kind of meat better than others? Do you feed whatever is the cheapest to get? Any recomendations on a good website I could check out would be appreciated. I know very little about this system of feeding animals. I am curious about it because I am a farmer that raises beef, pork and poultry and I'm wondering about marketing my meat to dog lovers too. Thanks

Heather

2. NCGirl

NCGirl Well-Known Member

You should check out some of the Barf/Raw lists... You could market directly to the folks if you can find them

I often feed Chicken Leg Quarters cause it is cheap, but have fed ground beef, Organ meat, pork, rabbit, Venison, lamb

3. Corgitails

Corgitails Well-Known Member

http://community.livejournal.com/rawdogs/profile is a good starting place.

Good luck. :)

err... ETA: My guys get chicken and rabbit primarily, but I also feed beef and goat when I can get it cheaply. Currently, I'm just supplementing with meat, but I'm exploring beginning to breed meat rabbits so I can follow a more whole-prey model.

4. Willowynd

Willowynd Well-Known Member

I feed mainly chicken leg quarters due to cost, but also try to use different meats at least twice a week such as beef, pork and fish- and also add in eggs and organ meat. I am doing as corgitales is- looking into raising my own rabbits to provide my own meat for my dogs at a lower cost. These meat prices are killing me!

5. GoldenMom

GoldenMom Well-Known Member