Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Great site you all have here. Im going to warn you that I may ask several stupid questions over the next period of time. Im new to homesteading.

This tree grow quick and has a ton of seeds. It also grows quick. I actually cut down several saplings every year. The bark is smooth.

bad pictures I know but they were from last summer. Any ideas or shall we wait until spring to get more details?

on edit: I think these may be the same picture!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The seeds dont bloom like the ones pictured in Nancys link but the stems look identical. I doesnt look like the locust(they are thorny) that my parents have. I dont recall a milky sap but the leaves pictures do resemble it. Mine may not be clumped to my trimming every spring. Thanks Guys

·
Master Of My Domain
7,220 Posts
can you get a close-up of the bark. that thing looks like the amur corktree i found here last year. some are male and some are female and make berries.

amur corktree

·
Registered
84 Posts
It looks like Tree of Heaven to me. Ailanthus altissima. It's very invasive...explaining the profusion of seeds and the suckers you cut down each year. I'd cut it down if I were you. A dead giveaway for ID is that the leaves smell like peanut butter when crushed.

·
Registered
10,945 Posts
Definately tree of heaven.

·
Registered
338 Posts
I'm not sure what these things are calledeither , but we called them stink trees. they will come up everywhere. They grow by seed and runners from the roots. It took us 3 yrs to get rid of them after we cut down the main tree. They swarmed all the flower beds.
Sharon

·
Registered
33 Posts
We call it the "tree from Hell".
.....and it looks like such a nice tree.....