What is a MsMansion?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by ET1 SS, Mar 27, 2006.

1. ET1 SS

ET1 SS zone 5 - riverfrontage Supporter

So this term appears to have two separate meanings.

1:The oldest is identical 'cookie-cutter' houses with no individualism.

2:the second meaning is so different from it's surrounding houses as to be totally out-of-place.

I have thought about what kind of house I have wanted to build, and I have been drawing it for about 15 years. Our ideas have changed and grown many times over the years, to finally come to the design that we have today.

We have worked and saved money for this house, we have been frugal and invested. We have finally gotten to the place where we can build the house that we have designed. We are building this house out in the middle of a forest with no other homes in view, totally isolated from any other homes or 'neighborhoods'.

I have recently been told that what I am building is a 'McMansion'.

Am I?

What is your opinion?

2. Brighid1971

Brighid1971 Well-Known Member

I tend to think the term 'McMansion' started here in good ol' New Jersey :rolleyes: From what you describe, it doesn't sound like a McMansion at all. That term is reserved for homes that are ridiculously large and opulent--kind of a "keeping up with the Joneses" status symbol. I guess all those idiots who are building these beasts want their own Biltmore Estate*...

:goodjob: Keep up the good work on your little slice of earth!

*Biltmore Estate is the largest home in the United States...

3. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

McMansions have just been outlawed in Austin. They are the overgrown, over designed houses that totally don't fit in an existing neighborhood. Like a castle in a neighborhood of 1950's homes. Sigh. I've seen that. It's disgusting.

4. Farmer Willy

Farmer Willy Well-Known Member Supporter