What have you done with pallets?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Amy Jo, Mar 15, 2004.

1. Amy Jo

Amy Jo Well-Known Member

Ok, I have NO experience at building much of anything... BUT I love free stuff, and free materials.

What have you built for your homestead with pallet wood, tips for using pallet wood, and what could you sell that has been built from pallets?

2. Amy Jo

Amy Jo Well-Known Member

nothing??? Anyone ever built a doghouse from pallet wood? How did that work out? Could you build and sell those and make any money, or is the wood unsuitable for that?

What about pigeon coops? Could you use that wood for the exterior, flooring, etc.?

anyone? anyone?

3. Friend used to cut the slats out of hardwood pallets and use them as shims. Granddad used to take them apart, save the screw nails and make all kinds of things out of the wood. Too much work for me. I cut them in half and burn them in my outdoor wood furnace. Hardwood pallets make a hot fire. Kind of a pain to get rid of the ash as it has a lot of nails in it.

4. Amy Jo

Amy Jo Well-Known Member

Well, that brought up another topic of interest to me... I've been hearing a lot about outdoor wood furnaces. Does yours connect to your duct work in the house? We're building a new house and I'd like a source of alternative heat. My husband's planning an insert for the fireplace on the first floor and we were considering a free standing wood burner in the basement. What can you share about your experience with your outdoor wood furnace?

5. Cygnet

Cygnet Guest

Wire a few together, slap a piece of plywood on top, make a temporary shade for animals that lasts through the summer or so. The only pallets I have access to appear to be pine, and the termites love them -- they get eaten so quickly that when I put them down to stack hay on, I stack them two and three deep because the bottom pallet will be rotted out within months.