what garden tools would you recomend?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Hears The Water, Feb 6, 2004.

1. Hears The Water

Hears The Water Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi all, we will be buying some garden tools very soon. I was wondering what tools you would recomend to a newbie. I will tell you the tools I allready have.
    1 pointy shovel.
    1 long hedge trimmer, Loppers I think they are called, look like long scissors
    1 parrot beak looking hedge trimmer
    1 wide shovel, like a small coal shovel
    1 tree tine pitch fork
    1 large plastic leaf rake

See, I told you I was a newbie, I don't even know the correct names for these things!!! :eek:

And that is it. No hoe's or rakes. Man we do need some good tools. My problem is getting the kids to put them up when they are done with them. Gonna have to get realy tough on them this year. We plan on getting a little cultivator tiller as well as a sprinkler and hose, a couple of hoes and a short rake or two. What else would you get? And which brands of the above mentioned items would you get? I have a bad back and I wonder if there are any of those tools that are kinder on a back than others? Also, what are your favorite ways of trellising? Again in deference to my back I want to trellis my tomatoes, pole beans, and cucumbers. Thanks in advance for any and all help!!!
    God bless you and yours
    Debbie

2. Hank - Narita

Hank - Narita Well-Known Member

You definitely need a hoe. It is good for weeding and moving small amounts of soil. You might use a pitchfork. We use it for cleaning out the goat pens and using the straw for the garden. You might use a bulb planter for transplanting vegies. You need a scissors and small pruner of some kind for cutting off dead leaves, limbs, etc.

3. gefozarks

gefozarks Well-Known Member