What foods to avoid?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by livestockmom, Sep 18, 2006.

1. livestockmom

livestockmom Well-Known Member

I'm new to pigs. Bought 2 feeder pigs and wondering a few things..

Do you feed the sacked pig feed wet or dry?

Are there foods that are toxic or to avoid?

Can you feed produce and such free choice, of space bulk foods out?

How much bread can be fed?

Sorry for so many questions at once.... I appreciate your help!

2. tyusclan

tyusclan Well-Known Member

1. If you can keep the feed dry you can pretty much keep it in front of them all the time. If it gets wet, and they don't eat it up pretty quickly, it'll sour.

2. About the only thing to worry about with hogs is salt. Salt intake can't be more than 1% of the total.

3. You can pretty much feed them all the scrap produce that they'll eat. They like it, and it'll cut down on your feed bill.

4. Never really fed bread other than an occasional moldy loaf or fresh table scraps, so I'm not really sure on that. The main thing is you don't to drop your total protein down too low.

3. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Well-Known Member

If you have a big enough pasture you might not need to feed them at all. We only get whole grains, usually whole kernal corn and use it as a daily treet to train them to come to the paddock so when I want to catch one I just have to close the gate

4. .netDude

.netDude Well-Known Member

Don't know about toxic, but I fed an armload of sunflowers that the goats knocked over to one of the sows a couple days ago, and she's pretty 'loose' since then without an appetite. So I'm not sure, but the sunflowers don't seem to be very good idea...

5. livestockmom

livestockmom Well-Known Member

Thanks so much for the tips...
    Sounds like it will be alot of fun to feed them and a great way to deal with surplus food...
    Thanks for the advice about the salt, I had no idea.

6. JennNY

JennNY Mom to 6 great kids!