What did *I* do?!?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Sarah J, Sep 9, 2004.

1. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

I keep looking up at the sky and questioning what I did recently to irritate someone up there. Yesterday and today come to mind readily.

First things first - a bit of background. I am a seamstress by trade. I work in spandex and make costumes - dance, exercise, superhero/Halloween costumes, fetish outfits...you name it and it works in with spandex, and I've probably made it. All in the basement of my own home with standard sergers and sewing machines.

But I also am an animal lover, land lover, and all-around Rural Woman. I have goats, sheep, a holstien calf, chickens, rabbits, dog, guinea pig, fish, and a cat who doesn't seem to understand (or care?) the dog doesn't care for it.

Last night I was getting tomatoes ready to can. Water was boiling to blanch them and I tossed in the first set to get hot for peeling. My 11 year old daughter stuck her head in the door to tell me the goats had gotten out of their pen (first itme in the year that I've had them!) and were eating the kale and chard in the garden!! The children (I have three - ages 10,11 and 13) cornered the goats and took them back to their barn and pushed a piece of plywood against the opening. The goats promptly knocked it down and went to the garden again. :rolleyes:

So I went out and hauled them back in again and then began putting the door back on the hinges - we kept it off this summer so they could come and go in their yard freely...the door goes back on in the winter to keep heat in. I'm putting the door on when out of the blue and for the first time *ever* my calf jumped/climbed over the 4 foot woven wire fence dividing the two pastures! :eek: