Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
I can't help you with the breeds - there are not a lot of breeds in this neck of the woods, so I have no experience with anything other than Boer, LaMancha, and Kiko - but the first one looks to be pretty young - maybe somewhere around 8 months old, maybe a little older. It's hard to tell exactly because she is so thin and that will affect her growth. The 2nd one is in better condition - so he could be somewhere around a year, maybe 18 months. I would hazard a guess that the 2nd one is maybe a Pygmy or possibly a Nigerian Dwarf, but I could be wrong on that because I have no depth perception so it's hard for me to tell size. I'm going more on coloring. I don't think that the first one is Kiko - horns aren't right, and it's probably not Boer - coloring isn't right, definitely not a LaMancha - ears aren't right. Maybe a Sanaan?

ETA: If these were my goats, I would be drawing blood and testing for CAE and CL immediately! If either one comes up positive, send them back to the sale barn. You really don't want either one in your herd. Although CL is more of a nuisance thing, it is very, very difficult to get rid of once an abscess has burst and it gets in the ground, and causes long term problems. CAE, on the other hand, can kill kids, cause hard udders, milking issues, is passed through colostrum and milk thus infecting the does kids, shorten a does productive life, and can cause long term health issues in the doe.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
First one's not a Saanen... Saanens have upright ears. My first thought is some kind of Boer cross.

·
Be powerful. No other option exists.
40,180 Posts
Oh, dear. There is so much to learn for someone new to goats. Those are Mutt Cross brush goats. If you are wanting dairy goats, take them back to the sale. Auction barn goats are notoriously diseased.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts