What book would be a good resource?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by dap, Nov 10, 2006.

1. dap

dap lilsparrow

I am new in this goating world, and would like to know what you veterans' turn to as a good resource? Who are the favorite authors? I have Nigerian Dwarves, if that makes any difference. Thanks! :)

2. DocM

DocM Well-Known Member

Raising Goats the Modern Way by Jerry Belanger. However, new goat owners find this: They read 10 books and the problems they have with their idividual goats are never in the books! Here's a great website: http://fiascofarm.com/goats/

Your best resource would be to make friends with a local goat owner with lots of experience. Then expect to disagree with that person about management while you sort of "find your way" with your own goats. Experience is the best teacher with goats, that and a good vet (or a message board you can trust).

3. dap

dap lilsparrow

Thanks! I have already found Fiasco Farm, and yes, it has helped tremendously so far! And finding a goat farmer in my area is also on my list. I have started cruising the side roads 'round here ( I am new to the area, besides being new to goats :rolleyes: ) and just have to get my nerve up to stop in. I can't call, since I have no idea what the name is that goes with the couple of farms I have found. Any ideas? Folks around here do not tend to be registered or are raising meat goats while mine are dairy... :shrug:

4. Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians

Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians Well-Known Member

go to ADGA.org look up a local goat club in your area. Join and get the newletter, go to a local meeting. You don't have to be a member of ADGA or own dairy goats to join clubs like this. We have boer goat folks, pygmy folks and dairy goat owners of pet and breeders in ours, even retired out of goat folks who still come and visit.