What Are You Doing For Fencing?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by forest_girl55, Jun 25, 2004.

1. forest_girl55

forest_girl55 Member

Ok fellow gardeners--we have about 1/2 acre to fence--we want to keep mainly deer out--the occasional elk and definately bears. We are OK with electrifying the fence around the bee hives and orchard portion in the fall or as needed--I would be VERY interested to hear how all of you have dealt with the issue of fencing and what has worked the best.
    Our place is in the Kootenays in central BC, Canada. We are relatively remote, and back on crown land. We do have a dog which is great when we are up and around and she is out but we would like to build a good fence once.
    We have no problem with spending the $$ neccessary to make it right.
    forestgirl

2. rwjedi

rwjedi Member

Well I'm no expert on fencing in Canada, but I can tell you what I have done down here in Missouri. I'm fencing in 5 acres with 2" X 4" Welded wire fencing. It comes in 50' and 100' rolls. Down here they are 70$ for a 100' roll. I put a 7" or 8" round wood post every hundred feet and a steel T post every 10 feet in between. I use 4 foot tall fencing and 6.5 foot T posts which when sunk 2 foot in the ground still leaves 6 inches at the top for barb wire or an electric wire.

3. MoonShine

MoonShine Fire On The Mountain

I don't know about your area,but I also was in need of a lot of fencing last year...more than I could afford. My only advice is to ask around. I was surprised at how much free fencing supplies was given to me by people.
    Maybe it was just luck for me but I recieved more than enough by asking around. It seemed that so many people had old rolls of wire fencing just laying around rusting. Who knows why,terrible thing to waste.

Good luck :)

4. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter