What are babysavers?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by jdnetone, Jun 11, 2004.

1. jdnetone

jdnetone Member

What does a babysaver do and how do you build them? I will soon build some cages for my new rabbits that I plan on breeding. My plan was to use ½” X 1” hardware cloth on the floor of the doe cages is this size ok to use? I am new to raising rabbits and would appreciate any information.

2. Pat Lamar

Pat Lamar Well-Known Member Supporter

"Babysaver" wire prevents the errant kit from falling through the sides of the cage, especially newborns born outside the nest box, as they will creep to try to find the mother doe and other kits. Sometimes, a nursing kit will hang onto the teat too long and is drug out of the nest box when the doe leaves.

Babysaver wire is usually a strip of wire with smaller hole dimensions and about two to 3 inches high which runs around all sides of the wire cage. Babysaver wire is very expensive and most commercial breeders don't use it, preferring instead to make regular and often barn checks when does are kindling to find these errant kits early and pop them into the nest box. Although the 1/2" x 1" is the preferred size for bottom wire, it is also more expensive than the 1" x 2". Most breeders prefer to use the 1" x 2" for the sides and top. Of course, the kits can fall through the 1" x 2", which is what generated the idea for "babysaver wire." So, the answer to your question is basically dependent upon how much you're willing to spend on making your cages, and how much time you wish to spend on making barn checks.

Pat Lamar
    President
    Professional Rabbit Meat Association
    http://www.prma.org/

3. dlwelch

dlwelch Well-Known Member

I would not recommend using hardware cloth at all. I'm sure most
    rabbit producers would suggest that you use welded wire for your
    cage floors. We use 1/2" x 1" welded wire for our cage floors as do most of
    the breeders I know.