We're homesteaders, lets do what we do best!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by greg273, Sep 1, 2005.

1. greg273

greg273 Well-Known Member

I see you are in Missouri, I'm from not too far away in southern Illinois. I've been making biodiesel for about 4 years now, and am a member of the St. Louis Biodiesel Club. We hold open-garages every once in a while to discuss techniques for producing fuel, and also maintain a Yahoo group list to keep everyone posted about various biodiesel related topics.
    If you have a source of waste vegetable oil, you can proudce biodiesel for about 60cents a gallon, not including your time. The time you spend on the process is really a matter of how efficient you can be, and keeping your handling of the oil to a minimum. (at least this is what i strive for). I would estimate that on a 100litre batch (~25gallons) I spend maybe 2 hours, and my process is far from as efficient as it could be. My intial outlay for a processor was about $100, mostly for a new 1/4hp motor to power the mixer. I mix the oil and reactants in an inverted 55gal drum, with the mixer attached. There are other processor designs, the most popular being the 'appleseed' model, which uses an old electric water heater and an inexpensive pump to circulate and mix the oil. A setup of this sort will run you about $120.
    There are many resources available on the internet, but you can Email me if you have any questions. I'd be glad to help a fellow homesteader on the path to a more self-sufficient lifestyle. Biodiesel is not the ultimate solution to our energy needs, but it is definitely a good step in the right direction.

2. BearCreekFarm

BearCreekFarm Well-Known Member

DH has been looking into wood gasification. I haven't paid much attention to his research, but he is encouraged by what he has read. He has carte blanche to buy whatever materials and supplies he needs to convert a vehicle and a generator to wood gas.

3. halfpint