Well water off the Grid

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Sacred Wolf, Dec 16, 2005.

1. Sacred Wolf

Sacred Wolf Member

I have purchased 5 acres out west of the city where I live. There is no direct source of water. So I will have to drill a well. I have spoken with the only well driller in the area to learn that there is good water 40 feet deep. He wants an arm and a leg to set up a turn key system that would be hooked to the grid. And of course if for any reason the power goes out then I would have no water. I am rather new at all of this and have no experience. But I want to build a self-sustaining homestead. I would appreciate any insight, or advice regrading this matter. I want to know how and if I can drill it myself? What needs to be done to make it safe and sanitary? what options are avialable for being off the grid. And if anyone else is currently using a system or approach that is not on the grid. At the current quote he will charge me $3000 to $5000 to come in and drill it, and set it up for me. Thanks for all and any assistance. T. :bash:

2. raymilosh

raymilosh Well-Known Member

It may be possible to drive the well by hand...where do you live?
    Another option would be to ask how much it would cost to drill the well and NOT outfit it with a pump and switch and pressure tank and piping and wiring
    that should knock more than $1000 off the price.
    Of course. then you'd have to install a pitcher type hand pump ( about $50 for everything if the water level in the well comes to within 20 feet of the surface) or a deep well hand pump (about $500) if the water is deeper than to get water or lower a narrow bucket (called a bailer) to get the water or install a photovoltaic system and pump (which would be expensive, too)

Oh and ask another driller for a price and opinion. Tell him your situation and ask for suggestions

3. Lisa in WA

Lisa in WA Formerly LisainN.Idaho Supporter