Well water and iron....

Discussion in 'Cleaning and Organizing' started by New2RuralHomesteading, Aug 30, 2017.

1. New2RuralHomesteading

New2RuralHomesteading Well-Known Member

morning everyone;

Figured this the most appropriate category but if I erred, I apologize.

I'm new to HT and even more new well water (believe it or not; I've made more posts/replies here than the amount of times I've interacted with well water (gasp).

Well and septic inspection is set for Monday. They're going to do the water checks, the leak checks and all of those optional and costly tests (pocketbook ouch). Since I'm new to well water, have two immunocompromised house dwellers and the property hadn't been loved in a while, I wanted to ensure everything was good to go.

On to the point: providing everything checks out with the tests, are there any tricks to keeping whites white, basins and water-exposed surfaces from having extra buildup?

The water came clean when doing walk through. I've not seen an ounce of orange anywhere except for the shower heads. And thankfully it doesn't smell like sulphur. I also know these things can change based on water level, contaminants, rainfall, etc.

So asking in advance if there's things I need to be cognizant of while trying to clean/using the water, with respect to countering many of the iron sads that can happen.

I swear by OxiClean for keeping whites white (bleach itself is sometimes not enough or not appropriate for the materials). I love to use vinegar on any hard water issues (will a well have hard water? City water does ((eyeroll).

It does have a filter on it located next to pump but I don't know if a second one would help?

Thanks all!

2. wy_white_wolf

wy_white_wolf Just howling at the moon

Any orange is usually a sign of iron bacteria. Mild cases can be controlled by shocking the well on regular intervals (1 or 2 times a year).

New2RuralHomesteading likes this.

3. New2RuralHomesteading