Well pump info- request

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by MSMenagerie, Jun 9, 2006.

1. MSMenagerie

MSMenagerie New Member

Its almost time for digging a well where we are building on our farm in north-central MS. My husband has read a bit on the subject, but consider this my own research contribution. I am not quite sure where to start but here are my questions:
    1) Got any good sites to read up on about well pumps?
    2) 2" or 4" lines pros and cons?
    3) Brand of pump you like and why?
    4) Any other things to consider besides digging it uphill from the septic?
    Thanks, be gentle, I am just getting started with this!

2. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter

1...A 6 inch well casing
    2... The casing to be galvanized steel pipe
    3...A submersible pump with horsepower to match the capacity of the well or if the GPM is 12 or better then a pump for 12 GPM
    4...A larger than average bladder storage tank. This will reduce the frequency the pump has to start, saves wear and tear and electrcity
    5...Any name brand submersible pump (Jaccuzzi or Gould), all USA pumps have the same brand of motor on them, Franklin
    6... decent well cover and a isolation switch for the power at the well
    7... schedule 80 PVC down pipe, torque arrestors and electrical wire ties every 3 feet on down pipe
    8... well to be 150 feet from septic
    9...numerous PVC O ring sealed couplings in the plumbing so that the entire setup can be dismantled without having to cut any lines. Makes servicing less painful and avoid breaking a lot of stuff.

3. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter