well, I did it

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by shorty'smom, Apr 27, 2005.

1. shorty'smom

shorty'smom Well-Known Member

I got a beginner beekeeping kit and a hive and have my bees on order. I'm a little scared because I've never done this before, but I've always wanted to. My grandpa used to keep bees and it always seemed so neat to me. I never got to help him with the bees though, just eat the honey.

So, what do I do now? I'm a little worried because all of the books I've been reading say that I should start with drawn combs for the bees and give them a frame of honey and a frame of brood. If I knew where to get that stuff I wouldn't have had to mail order everything. How do those authors expect us to get a frame of brood and honey? I got this book about beekeeping and it is about 4 inches thick and talks about a lot of stuff for commercial beekeeping. I just want honey for my family. I think I've finally boiled it down to what will be good information for just a hobby at beekeeping, but I still have worries about getting this 3 pound package of bees and putting them into a brand spanking new hive with nothing but foundation to live with and sugar water instead of honey.

Will my bees be ok?

2. shorty'smom

my hive is just two deep supers (or brood chambers) with the stand, bottom board, with interior and exterior hive covers. There are 10 frames of foundation in each box. I plan to let the bees keep everything they make this year. Next year do I need to then add a queen excluder and a super above my two brood chambers and honey stores for the hive? Do the bees need that much room for storing their own honey and raising brood, and/or is that enough room for them?

3. shorty'smom