We had a frost :(

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Tirzah, Sep 18, 2006.

1. Tirzah

Tirzah Well-Known Member Supporter

Well,

I am very new to gardening and didn't expect a frost yet. Nothing was covered and I was wondering if anything is salvagable.

I saw the other post about frost and have written off the tomatoes for Green Tomato Chutney or Marmalade. However, a gal at church told me that I could individually wrap each tomtao in newspaper and it will ripen eventually. Has anyone ever tried this?

Also,

My pumpkins are not totally orange yet but are a decent size. Butternut squash are not quite ripe yet either. Any tips if I should pick them now and hope they ripen or should I chance leaving them on the vines?

I would sure appreciate any help. I have a learned this lesson the hard way. But I am off to buy burlap coffee bags (25#) for next year.

Thanks in advance!

2. susieM

susieM Well-Known Member

Straw helps, if you get warned beforehand. Many things should be okay, wait and see what pops back up. The pumpkins can survive light frosts, but try not to bring them in til you cannot pierce the skins with your thumbnail.

3. Pony

Pony Well-Known Member Supporter

The pumpkins will keep "orange-ing up" to a point. Right now, I still have two left on vines that are limping along (due to age/disease rather than frost).

If the tomatoes did not freeze, you have a couple options. You can cover them at night if you are warned of a freeze. You can pick them, wrap them in paper and bring them in the house; or you can pull the entire plant, bring it inside, and hang it upside down until the fruit ripens.

If you wrap them in paper, CHECK THEM OFTEN!! Nothing like a slimy, rotten tomato! Also, if you put them in a paper sack with an apple, the apple gives off a gas that hastens ripening.

Don't know what else is in your garden, or what zone you're in, so can't give any input on that.

Pony!

4. MaineFarmMom