Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have only owned goats for a total of one month; so I am still learning and what not. I have the following questions and what not.

When do wax plugs form, what age do most goats get a wax plug?

I now know what wax plugs are; but I don't know if any goat can get them or if they only get them at a certain age. I posted in another thread that I thought I might have a pregnant goat; she does have a pooch feel to her udder, and I did not know at the time that the knot I felt and took off was a wax plug.

What was the liquid I got out if she is not pregnant or could she be one of the goats that could give milk and not be pregnant.

I do eventually want to milk both of theses goats; should I start now getting them used to the idea of being hand milked?

I do not have any teat dip at this time; so what can I use and how soon do I have to use it or is it better at this point to just leave her alone? I have a providine solution; but I am not sure if this would work or not.

I also own her sister( they were bought together) her sister is 8 months old and I checked her so I could tell the diffrence she does not have a poochy udder and or the wax plugs that I can feel.