washing before milking

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Peak, May 12, 2004.

1. Peak

Peak Active Member

I am new to miling my doe, and want to take good care of her. Right now I do not have an appropriatte pail to milk into, so the milk is going to our very happy dog. I am concidering keeping the milk, and after reading this site, not pasturizing it. So , now I am washing her before, and my hands, but I am not doing anything afterwards. I have read about teet dips, any suggestions/recommendations?? Also, I am just using soap to wash with before, again looking for any suggestions/recommendations. I am new to this site, although very excited. After reading many postings, I joined. Any advice is greatly appreciatted!!!
    Regina Peak
    Mo

2. shelbynteg

shelbynteg Well-Known Member

Hi, Regina, and welcome! I wash teats before milking with soapy water that has a little bit of bleach. Then I dry the teats. After milkiing, I like the liquid teat dips that I've seen various places -- Dr. Nader's teat defense, i think, and nolvosan is another one. Usually order mine from valley vet. Some people just use a bleach solution again, but I want something to cause the orofice to contract as quickly as possible, just doesn't seem like bleach water is the right answer.

3. JanH

JanH Well-Known Member